979-823-6371

Reviews

Universal Auto Works, Bryan TX and College Station TX, 77803 and 77845, Auto Repair, Engine Repair, Brake Repair, Transmission Repair and Auto Electrical Service

Welcome to Universal Auto Works in Bryan, TX. Thank you for taking the time to visit our website. Our owner Herschel has been offering fine car repair for over 20 years. We are proud to provide car repair and maintenance for the Bryan and College Station area and the area around Bryan and College Station. We specialize in Auto Repair, Engine Repair, Brake Repair, Transmission Repair and Auto Electrical Service. It doesn't matter if you are from Bryan or just passing through, we will gladly provide all the necessary auto repair services at our auto repair shop. When you bring us your automobile our auto repair technicians will resolve the mechanical issue(s) presented, and restore the dependability and reliability you expect from your car's performance. So drop by our auto repair shop and we will show you, why we are considered one of the best shops in Bryan.

Our Certified AutoVitals Reviews :: Review Count: 24 :: Average Rating: 99.99% last 6 months

5 star rating
Kallie S. from Pasadena, TX, whose FORD was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 5/5/2015 and their testimonial is:
"We went to Universal Auto Works because they were recommended by AAA. They did an amazing job and had it done quickly for our daughter who is in college there. She did not have to go long without transportation and they were very courteous during the whole process! Glad to have found an honest, reputable place that I can trust!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Chandra reviewed their last visit on 3/25/2015 and their testimonial is:
"Universal Auto Works has honest mechanics that are very helpful to their customers and provides great quality work."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Tim G. from Bryan, TX, whose Ford was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 3/17/2015 and their testimonial is:
"Friendly and honest service. I highly recommend Universal Auto Works. Hershel and his team have always fixed me right up. Just an excellent repair shop."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Tim G. from Bryan, TX, whose Ford was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 2/27/2015 and their testimonial is:
"Best place to find friendly honest people with great service. In all these years I've never had such service that Universal Auto Works has given me. Hershel and his team really care about treating you right. I always depend on them for my truck and my wife's car maintenance. A happy and satisfied customer."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Tim G. from Bryan, TX, whose Saturn was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 10/11/2014 and their testimonial is:
"I'd tell them how much I appreciate their friendly, caring, and HONEST employees there - including the owner. They explain exactly what the problem is and go into much more detail than other car repair shops do, so I understand the problem much better. Also they show you the part repaired or replaced or just exactly what they've done - AND their work and parts are guaranteed. Just a top quality place to take your car or truck."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Elisa R. from Bryan, TX, whose Ford was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 10/9/2014 and their testimonial is:
"They did a great job....except they kept me on hold quite a length of time."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Tim G. from Bryan, TX, whose Saturn was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 8/20/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Never had a more open and honest repair shop. Extremely friendly service from ALL of the service advisors and a lot of times dealing with the owner himself. A couple of times I thought my car had problems and after driving and testing them, they found no problem. AND no charge. I'm not used to that kind of honesty and really appreciate them always telling the truth with everything totally explained. I highly recommend UAW to anyone. You will be pleasantly surprised at the service you receive."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
H M Ruhlman J. from St Petersburg, fl, whose Saturn was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 6/17/2014 and their testimonial is:
"I give this garage the highest rating possible. A++. Several months ago, I contacted the owner, Hershel Hickman, because I was trying to find a quality shop to repair/maintain my daughter's Saturn. She lives in Bryan, and I wanted her to have a mechanic she could trust since she needed some extensive work done. I talked to Mr Hickman, from my home in Florida, for about 20 minutes. I sensed he was a class guy who ran a tight and honest shop.

My daughter took her car in early on a Monday morning, with a list of maintenance items (flush radiator, flush transmission, oil change) Thankfully, the mechanic assigned to the job saw that she needed her brakes flushed and new struts, plus some other smaller repairs. She was driving a dangerous vehicle.

Her Saturn was finished two days later. It performed perfectly.

Last week, she heard a loud noise in the front end, and immediately contacted Mr Hickman for an appointment. The mechanic assigned to it said the noise was from a strut that had been incorrectly installed (by an employee who was since let go) and one of the mounts was broken. Universal Auto Works did the entire repair free of charge. There was no hesitation on their part, at all.

My daughter said she is treated courteously and with respect when she come in, even if it is just for an oil change. The staff is friendly and willing to explain everything to her or her husband. She trusts Mr Hickman completely.

I would highly recommend Universal Auto Works for anyone in Bryan seeking an honest shop, that stands behind their work. Mr Hickman is a top of the line guy who will make sure your vehicle receives the best care possible.
"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Karen S. reviewed their last visit on 5/21/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Great service and quality work"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Libby D. reviewed their last visit on 4/25/2014 and their testimonial is:
"Universal Auto Works did a wonderful job! They explained what was wrong with my vehicle and were very up front about what needed to be done. The repairs were done quickly and for a fair price. I would highly recommend them to anyone that is looking for a mechanic!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Michael H. from College Station, TX, whose Dodge was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 1/24/2014 and their testimonial is:
"They have good work and they try to make your visit as easy as quick as possible."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
John F. from Bryan, TX, whose Nissan was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 12/20/2013 and their testimonial is:
"They were informative, friendly, professional, helpful, identified my car problem, were helpful in letting me choose how to deal with the timing of the repair"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Michael H. from College Station, TX, whose Dodge was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 12/16/2013 and their testimonial is:
"It was professional and they made it easy."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Eric O. from Bryan, TX, whose FORD was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 5/15/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Don't go anywhere else."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Linda S. from Bryan, TX, whose Honda was in for an auto repair service, reviewed their last visit on 3/27/2013 and their testimonial is:
"They do excellent work at a very reasonable price. We have been very pleased with the service we have received at Universal Auto Works."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Maggie T. reviewed their last visit on 2/7/2013 and their testimonial is:
"A++! Gets it done quickly, always come in under the estimate of cost, don't overcharge me for things that weren't needed, have never done anything without talking to me first, and they are super friendly!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Melany L. from Bryan, TX, whose Subaru was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 2/4/2013 and their testimonial is:
"Great work, very reasonable, and fantastic customer service. they discuss all aspects of the repair, and don't try to sell you on services you don't need. They talk TO the customer, not ABOVE the customer. Highly, highly recommended."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
1 star rating
Kenneth M. from Bryan, TX, whose Chevrolet was in for an auto repair, reviewed their last visit on 1/21/2013 and their testimonial is:
"I hope no one ask me"
Herschel
Herschel:
"We at Universal Auto Works always strive to provide the best service possible. We are sorry to hear that this customer was not satisfied with our service. We went above and beyond trying to please this customer. An estimate for a repair, that he specifically requested, was given to the customer (at which time he immediately requested a discount) along with other recommended repairs and maintenance that he declined (as this vehicle was in severe disrepair and lacking maintenance.)


When a complication arose we of course made the repair at no charge to the customer (parts and labor), provided a rental car to ensure he and his family would not be inconvenienced, as well as paid for the gas for the rental car. (The customer was informed by the rental car company that the vehicle would need to be returned with a full tank of gas, instead the vehicle was left with us and was very low on fuel - as he stated he did not have the money for gas.)


At no time did Universal Auto Works make a profit on this vehicle. In fact, in interest of customer service, we sustained a substantial loss. We of course realize that this is part of being in business and will continue to do our best to ensure our customers are satisfied. In addition to all we had done to try and please the customer, he then proceeded to ask for a discount on the original repair he had requested.

Universal Auto Works has been serving the Bryan, College Station area for years. Our business has continued to grow as a direct result of our great customer base; a customer base that was built on honest, affordable and quality automotive repairs that we will continue to stand behind."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 12/22/2011 and their testimonial is:
"Friendly staff very helpful 100% satisfied"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Willifordm from Crabbs Prairie reviewed their last visit on 11/14/2011 and their testimonial is:
"My alternator went out under warranty and Universal fixed it right away no questions asked."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 10/23/2011 and their testimonial is:
"YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED !!!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Willifordm from Crabbs Prairie reviewed their last visit on 10/12/2011 and their testimonial is:
"Universal replaced an alternator on my 2002 Ford Escape. It was in a very tight spot and required removing part of the axle to get to it. They did the job quickly at a very fair price and used quality parts with a guarantee. I'm glad I used them, will go back."
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Charlesa from Bryan reviewed their last visit on 9/17/2011 and their testimonial is:
"I have been coming to this shop starting last year and will not go any where else. I used to go to lube shops for oil changes and when I found out that they have been putting in the wrong oil due to car trouble Rodney and the guys at the shop were able to save me money and the replacement of an engine with simply useing the correct oil and replacing a sensor that was damaged. Great job guys"
Find out more about this auto repair shop
5 star rating
Anonymous reviewed their last visit on 9/12/2011 and their testimonial is:
"Very friendly and efficient, great job boys!"
Find out more about this auto repair shop